Partick Thistle beaten by Morton

Morton 1

Partick Thistle 0

Irn-Bru First Division

THIS was always going to be a close encounter for both teams - but on the night it was a close encounter of the unkind for Thistle after Morton were awarded a dubious penalty.

Thistle looked the more likely to score in the opening clashes.

Kevin Cuthbertson had two looping efforts over the bar as the visitors tried to assert themselves in the first 10 minutes.

But it was Ton’s Derek Lyle who scored the only goal of the match after ref Stevie Nicholls halted the game on 14 minutes and pointed to the penalty spot.

The ball had bounced off the slippery surface and struck the arm of Willie Kinniburgh. The controversial decision brought a howl of protest from the travelling fans and protest from Jags’ gaffer Ian McCall.

Thistle struggled to impose themselves on the game after this and there was a fair degree of frustration evident. Chris Erskine had an attempt tipped over the bar as both teams jostled for dominance.

Morton’s midfielder Michael Tidser came close to a second when he raced into The Jags’ half and shot a tremendous 30 yard rocket off the underside of the bar.

McCall then swapped Paul Cairney for Martin Grehan who switched to the right out wide. Unfortunately the closest McCall’s men to come to a goal was a low drive from David Rowson.

As the minutes ticked by the final throw of the dice saw McCall bring on Ryan McGowan and Simon Donnelly for Erskine and Bryan Hodge.

But this did nothing to improve the visitors’ chances with Thistle staring at their first defeat in 10 First Division outings.

Tomorrow (Saturday) Thistle face Ross County away and will be hoping Tuesday night’s frustrating match was just a blip.

Last Saturday’s postponed home match against Falkirk has been re-arranged for Tuesday April 5 at 7.45pm. Pre-paid tickets for the original game can be used.

Attendance: 1,267

Partick Thistle: Fox, Paton, Boyle, Hodge (Donnelly), Kinniburgh, Archibald, Cairney, Grehan, Rowson, Doolan, Flannigan, Erskine, (Ryan McGowan).