Milngavie Wanderers on top form

Milngavie Wanderers U15s had a convincing 3-0 victory over Fulham Boys club to move within six points of the Glasgow and District Youth Football League title.

,Aran McDonald opened the scoring exploiting space on the left hand side before Nathan Carmichael and Kalvin Warren added to the scoreline in the second half.

Wanderers attacked from the off and the first chance fell to Alberto Vezza whose right-footed volley from outside the box was comfortably held by the keeper. Milngavie continued to push but squandered many of their chances with Kalvin Warren, Jack Carson and Aran McDonald all trying their luck in the first 10 minutes.

Finally though, Milngavie eventually worked the ball into space on the left hand side after 26 minutes and Ben Jenkins did well to beat his man before dinking an inviting ball into the six yard box where

McDonald was waiting to nod home for 1-0.

Fulham also had the ball in the net before half time but it was adjudged to be offside.

Chances were few and far between for both sides in the second half.

Twenty five minutes into the second half McDonald played a great cross to substitute Nathan Carmichael who almost rounded the goalkeeper but did well to smother it and snuff out the danger.

A minute later the ball was put in the back of the net by James Macmillan but he had strayed offside after Rory McInnes’ cross. The all important second goal finally arrived though on 27 minutes when

Warren’s cross from the left was stabbed home at the near post by Carmichael for his first goal since November.

Fulham responded strongly and almost scored four minutes later but Ross Fisher reacted superbly to dive low to his right and hold the ball.

Milngavie rounded off the scoring a minute from time when Joe Slee laid the ball off to Kalvin Warren 25 yards from goal and he curled a superb effort beyond the keeper and into the top corner.

Milngavie: Ross Fisher (Cpt), Rory McInnes, James Logan, Aidan Young, Ben Jenkins, Robbie Donaldson, Jack Carson, Kalvin Warren (79’), Joe Slee, Alberto Vezza, Aran McDonald (26’), Nathan Carmichael(67’), James Macmillan, Kyle Campbell, Scott Hutton, Josh Shovlin, Man of the match: Aidan Young and Kalvin Warren.