Garscube round up

Garscube Harriers
Garscube Harriers

GARSCUBE girl Catriona Graves came in as third u17 representing Scotland in the Celtic Nations and Inter District Junior Women’s 4km Cross Country Championship at Holyrood Park, Edinburgh on Saturday, January 7 in a time of 16 minutes, 53 seconds, leading the Scottish team to second place with a total of 15 points.

Catriona was presented with her medal by Steve Cram and was the first counter in the West District team.

In the Senior and U23 Women’s 5k race, Katie White finished in 27th place with a time of 21 minutes 48 seconds and was a counting member of the West District Team which finished in third place with a total of 90 points.  On the same day, eight Garscube Harriers members turned out for the Glasgow Parkrun 5k race at Pollok Park.

John McLaughlin was first to finish in 19th place in a race PB of 19 minutes 05 seconds followed by: 30th Scott McPherson - 20:04, 49th Kieran McLaughlin - 21:35 (race PB), 58th Barbara Anderson - 22:02, 81st Iain Peers - 22:55, 160th Peter Dow - 25:38, 185th Stuart Irvine - 26:49 and 229th Caroline Dow - 28:49. In total, 318 finished.

Garscube Harriers members took part in various races on Monday, January 2.

Debbie Martin-Consani finished in 39th place and second lady vet over 35 in the Beith Harriers Open New Year 4.8 Miles Road Race at Glengarnock in a time of 35 minutes 22 seconds. A total of 51 finished.

Ann Boal finished in 100th place in the Greenmantle Dash Hill Race (distance 3.2k, climb 200 metres) at Broughton in a time of 33 minutes 30 seconds and 24 members were in action in the Hogmanay Handicap at Burnbrae, Milngavie.

Their scratch positions and times were: 2nd Stephen Mulrine – 23:45, 3rd Marco Consani – 23:50, 4th Lesley Chisholm – 24:25, 5th Paul Consani – 24:34, 6th Alex Chisholm – 24:58, 7th John Bell – 25:53, 9th Catriona Graves – 27:34, 11th Danny Burns – 28:10, 12th Jim McAneny – 28:50, 19th Iain Peers – 30:49, 21st John Molloy – 30:52, 22nd Paul Coia – 30:57, 24th Natasha Mulrine – 32:15, 26th Frances Brown – 33:24, 27th Rachel Busby – 33:24, 30th Jennifer Duru – 33:54, 33rd Joanne Robertson – 34:20, 36th Lesley Chapman – 36:48, 37th Gillian Davidson – 36:51, 38th Theresa Miln – 36:51, 42nd Ann Clanachan – 37:07, 44th Mark Turnbull – 37:24, 45th Stuart Irvine – 37:33 and 59th Raghbir Singh – 42:20. In all, 67 runners completed the race.

Finally Andy Griffiths finished in 115th place out of 384 runners in a time of 26 minutes 52 seconds in the Portobello Promathon Four Miles Road Race on New Year’s Day.