Garscube ladies make it three in a row

Garscube Harriers ladies were celebrating recently when they came first in the round Arran Relay race.

This is the third year in a row they have achieved this. They won the first women’s team prize on July 20.

The race was run in two sections – North and South – with each section starting in Blackwaterfoot and finishing in Brodick and the times added up at the end to determine the team position and the total winning time.

The women’s overal time was six hours 43 minutes 13 seconds. Individual performances were: North 1: Gail Beaton – 1:15:33, North 2: Katie White 1:09:20, North 3: Charlene McCallum 1:16:39, South 1: Diane Clark 51:50, South 2: Kath Scott – 1:08:39, South 3: Jill O’Neil – 1:01:12.

Meanwhile the Garscube Harriers men’s team of Allan Blair 1:11:17, John McLaughlin 1:10:55, John Murray 1:08:08, Chris Kilshaw 54:48, Rob McLennan 1:04:19 and Danny Burns 52:17 finished in fourth place in a total time of 6 hours 21 minutes 44 seconds.

Raghbir Singh was timed at 1:12:09 in South 3 and Isobel Martin at 1:25:59 in North 3 in composite teams with Lothian Running Club and Inverclyde Tri Club respectively.

Garscube man David Dickson finished in 13th place out of 57 runners in a time of 10 minutes 55 seconds in the 3k Race on Glasgow Green on Friday July 26.

Four Garscube members turned out for the Glasgow parkrun 5k race at Pollok Park on Saturday July 27.

David Dickson was first to finish in 20th place in 19 minutes 39 seconds followed by: 92nd Jennifer Duru – 22:46 (race PB), 150th Peter Dow – 24:08 and 297th Caroline Dow – 28:40. 442 finished. In the Tollcross parkrun on the same day Stephen Wilson finished 12th out of 39 competitors in 23 minutes 11 seconds.