Garscube Harriers’ Euan is best in Berlin


EUAN GEDDES was first Garscube Harrier to finish the Berlin Marathon on Sunday out of the four members who took part.

He was 297th in a time of 2hrs 46mins 15secs, Athole Smith came in 1107th in 2:59:27, Alan Blair was 8840th in 3:45:23 and Emma Blair 1540th in 3:57:23.

Meanwhile two Garscube ladies competed in the Commonwealth 24 Hour Road Championships at Llandudno on September 23 and 24. Debbie Martin-Consani completed 202 laps of the course and 208.057km and was fourth lady to finish in 14th place overall. Sharon Law completed 198 laps and 204.017km to finish 7th lady and 20th overall. Debbie and Sharon were the first two counters with Pauline Walker in the Scottish Women’s Team which finished in third place with a total of 605.791km.

Four Garscube members competed in the Glasgow Parkrun 5k race at Pollok Park last Saturday. Tariq Abdullah finished in 87th place in a time of 24:00 followed by: 96th Peter Dow - 24:27, 122nd Stuart Irvine - 25:50 (race pb) and 178th Caroline Dow - 28:50. A total of 245 finished. Six Garscube members took part in the Bupa Great North Run from Newcastle to South Shields on Sunday September 18. Gary Goldie was first to finish in 696th place in 1hr 29mins 30secs.

Two Garscube men took part in the Strathclyde Parkrun 5k race the previous day. Stuart Irvine finished in 85th place in a time of 26mins 2secs and Derek Buchanan came in 111st in 28:43. A total of 160 finished. Eighteen members of Garscube Harriers travelled to the Isle of Cumbrae on Sunday September 11 to take part in the Around Cumbrae 10.25 Miles Road Race which starts and finishes in Millport.

The Garscube trio of Euan Geddes who came in fifth in 59mins 17secs, John Bell 6th in 1:00:09 and Athole Smith 11th in 1:02:42 were the first men’s team to finish with a total of 22 points.

The ladies enjoyed similar success. Gail Beaton was first lady to finish in 25th place in 1:09:11, Jill Neil was 4th lady in 42nd place in 1:14:50 and Irene Veza was the 3rd counting member of the winning ladies team who accrued a total of 14 points. Irene was 9th lady to finish in 60th place in 1:22:31. Other Garscube results were: 12th Alex Chalmers - 1:02:55, 13th John McLaughlin - 1:03:20, 26th Rob McLennan - 1:09:25, 33rd Martin Walker - 1:11:46, 39th Paul Coia - 1:14:28, 61st Kieran McLaughlin - 1:23:08, 62nd Emma Blair - 1:23:11, 71st Mark Turnbull - 1:26:47, 74th Isobel Martin - 1:27:57, 79th Sheina Gilmour - 1:29:33, 88th Raghbir Singh - 1:34:04 and 94th Karen-Anne McLennan - 1:41:50. 99 finished.