Court ace Derek’s the real McKay

DEREK McKAY picked up a stunning double at this year’s Milngavie Tennis Championships.

Derek and Malcolm Smith rose to beat veterans Iain and Duncan McCallum in the Men’s Doubles final.

But Derek and Malcolm then squared off to contest the final of the Men’s Singles title.

Elsewhere, Gillian Deveney took home the Ladies’ Singles crown after victory over Susan Ritchie.

Gillian was also a beaten finalist in the Ladies’ Doubles event as she and Fiona Jobson were edged out by Gill Clunie and Angela Pointon.

Gill was also crowned Veteran Ladies Singles and co-Veteran Ladies Doubles champion.

Men’s Singles — winner: Derek McKay; runner-up: Malcolm Smith.

Ladies’ Singles — winner: Gillian Deveney; runner-up: Susan Ritchie.

Men’s Doubles — winners: Derek McKay and Malcolm Smith; runners-up: Iain Mcand Duncan McCallum.

Ladies’ Doubles — winners: Gill Clunie and Angela Pointon; runners-up: Fiona Jibson and Gillian Deveney.

Mixed Doubles — winners: Ian Georgeson and Solly Georgeson; runners-up: Iain Maclaren and Gillian Deveney.

Open Mixed Doubles — winners: Moira Strachan and Keith Sharp; runners-up: Gill Clunie and Alastair Pell.

Men’s Singles Plate — winner: John Prenticel runner-up: Fergus Bell.

Ladies’ Singles Plate — winner: Mary Hunter; runner-up: Vanessa Fletcher.

Veteran Mens’ Doubles — winners: Iain Maclaren and Ken Kinghorn; runners-up: John Simpson and Peter Jibson.

Veteran Ladies Doubles — winners: Susan Ritchie and Gill Clunie; runners-up: Moira Strachan and Alison Young.

Veteran Mixed Doubles — winners: Ian Georgeson and Solly Georgeson; runners-up: Iain maclaren and Fiona Maclaren.

Veteran Men’s Singles — winner: Duncan McCallum; runner-up: Iain Maclaren.

Veteran Ladies Singles — winner: Gill Clunie; runner-up: Gillian McVittie.

Most Improved male — Craig Noble.

Most Improved female — Laura Maclean.

Captains: Duncan McCallum, Ken Kinghorn, Darren Collins, Iain Maclaren, Peter Young, Moira Strachan, Rona Sharp, Maureen Murray, Alison Culpan, Gillian McVitie, Alison Young, June Gordon, Linda Murray, Fiona Maclaren.