Clydesdale race aces in action

A GROUP of Clydesdale Harriers runners were in action at the West Districts Cross Country Relay Championships at Kilmarnock recently.

In the Young Females 2,500m race, there were four complete club teams taking part. The ‘A’ Team had Iona Allan (Under 13) running 12mins 23secs, changing to Emily Paxton (Under 15) in 12.05, finally changing to Under 17 Erin Ball (13.31).

B Team had N. Shaw (U13) running first in 14.15, changing to Charlotte Ross (U15) in 11.43, finally changing to Rachel Campbell (U15) in 13.49. ‘C’ Team had Sarah Goggins (U13) running first in 12.52, changing to Aimee Abbott (U13) in 15.14, finally changing to Corrie Haran (U17) in 13.09. ‘D’ Team had Chloe Allan (U13) running first in 14.06, changing to Sophie Hassan (U13) in 17.56, finally changing to K. Glen (U15) in 15.46.

Next up were the Young Males (also running 2500m) who had four complete and one incomplete team. ‘A’ Team had Lewis Priest (U13) running first in 10.07, changing to Philip Allan (U15) in 11.09, finally changing to David Campbell (U17) in 10.16. ‘B’ Team had Ronan Ross (U13) running first in 11.15, changing to Brian Aird (U15) in 10.39, finally changing to Lewis Hay (U15) in 11.40. ‘C’ Team had Harry Borthwick (U13) in 12.51, changing to Stephen Kane (U13) in 13.17, finally changing to Darren Dolan (U15) in 11.39. ‘D’ Team had Jack McCue (U13) running first in 11.18, changing to Kyle Higgins (U13) in 14.06, finally changing to Andrew Hunter (U15) in 12.00. ‘E’ Team had R. Fitzpatrick (U13) running first in 12.08, changing to L. Smith (U15) in 12.54.

Next off were the Senior/Junior Women who were running 4000m. There were two teams, one incomplete. ‘A’ Team had Fiona McCue running first in 18.03, changing to Marina McCallum (18.45), finally changing to Pamela McCrossan (17.29). ‘B’ Team had Claire Reid finishing in 21.03.

The ‘A’ Team also won the Bronze Medal in the Womens Masters Team Competition and were ninth team overall against some stiff female competition.

Lastly were the Senior/Junior Men also running 4000m. They had two complete and one incomplete team. ‘A’ Team had Peter Bowman running first in 13.22, changing to Kevin Farmer (15.32), changing to Gerry Montgomery (15.55), and finally Paul Carroll (14.28). ‘B’ Team had Ryan Nelson running first in 16.37, changing to Martin King (16.23), changing to Pat McClusky (16.22), finally changing to Hugh Laverty (17.41). ‘C’ Team had Tony Dolan running first in (17.28), changing to Paul McKendry (17.22), changing to Gerry Kane (19.12).