Club runner record good times in cross country championships

Clydesdale Harriers had three races in the past few weeks. On the 16th was the Brampton to Carlisle 10 Miler which had two harriers taking part.

On the gently undulating course Peter Rudzinski was fastest Harrier in a time of 1.20.15, followed by Chris Ryan (1.27.02).

The day before was the Dunbartonshire AAA Cross Country Championships which took place this year in Balloch Country Park. Under 11 Boys had fastest Harrier Lewis Byrne (9.46), followed by Ross Greer (10.11), Ewan Dunbar (10.40), Max Shannon (10.44), and Declan Breen (12.31). Lewis, Ross and Ewan finished as 4th team overall.

Under 11 Girls had Hannah Jordan running 8.38, followed by Kenzie McIntosh (8.56), Maria Threwal (9.14), Polly Anderson (10.10), and Heather McDaid (10.20). Hannah, Kenzie and Maria finished as 1st team overall.

Under 13 Boys had Robert Whittick finishing in 12.41, followed by Jack Dolan (13.41), Cairn Wallace (13.46), Jake McPherson (14.08), Stuart Aird (14.19), J.J. Herrick (15.19), and Lloyd Young (15.39). Robert, Jack and Cairn finished as 1st team overall. Under 13 Girls had Rhianna McQuillan running 15.04, followed by Anna McCracken (15.37).

Under 17 Men had Brian Aird running 19.04, followed by Lewis Hay (22.21), and Darren Dolan (23.11), and they finished as 1st team overall.

Senior Men had Paul Carroll running 34.50, followed by Craig Pryor (36.23), Michael Diver (37.26), Iain Robertson (38.12), Ryan Nelson (40.50), and Paul McKendry (41.25). Paul, Craig, Michael and Iain finished as 6th team overall.

Senior Women and the Over 60 Men ran together. Fastest was Pete Cartwright (28.33), followed by Bobby Young (28.43), Marina McCallum (29.25), and Christine Duncanson (31.26).

The week before was the Scottish National Short Course Cross Country Championships at a very muddy Bellahouston Park. Under 15 Girls had Natasha Shaw running well to finish in a time of 9.14 for one lap (approximately 2k).

Under 17 Men had Brian Aird as fastest harrier finishing in a time of 11.01, followed by Philip Allan (12.15), Lewis Hay (12.19), and Darren Dolan (12.37).

The Senior Men ran 4k and had Iain Robertson finishing in 15.59, followed by Ryan Nelson (17.33).

The next cross country race for the harriers is the West Districts Cross country Championships on the 6th December in Linwood.