Bearsden Tennis Club tournament attracts high standard of players

editorial image

Bearsden Tennis Club held its 25th annual Doe Summer Series Tournament with an excellent turnout.

The LTA tournament attracts players of all standards from beginners to county ones and veterans with the opportunity to pit their skills against each other. In addition there are popular matches for mini tennis players (aged 8, 9, 10 or under).

In the top men’s final, Ian Cannon from Hamilton won through 6/1, 6/4 against Grant Aide from Kirkhill to retain his title for the third successive year.

Grant Aide won through to the final with a hard hitting match against Stephen Friel (Uddingston) 6/4, 6/4.

The top ladies title was won by Kirsty MacDonald (16) from Western Tennis Club 6/2, 6/0 against her clubmate Giorgio Bigari.

In the ladies Section 2, Niamh Slavin (Drumchapel) had a decisive win 6/2, 6/1 against Maureen Murray (Virgin Active Milngavie) and in the men’s Section 2 Grant Aide beat David Campbell (Thorn Park) 7/6, 6/4 in a close final. Grant had a second match the same day by reaching the final of the top men’s final.

In the large 3rd men’s draw, Andrew MacKintosh (Woodend) won through 6/1, 6/2 against Philip Waterfield (Bearsden).

The section 3B under 16 boys event Scott Curran (Bearsden) got through 6/4, 7/6 against Fraser Edwards (Bearsden). The consolation event from this draw was won by Arron Scott (Drumchapel) with a 6/4 6/1 win over club-mate Craig McKenna.

The Mini Green age 10 and under was won by Jonah Gethin (Pacific Club, Hong Kong) and the runner-up was Findlay Watters (Thorn Park). In the mini orange event (age 9 & under) there were many matches with the winner Antony Sheridan (Bearsden) and runner-up Luca Barbieri (Bearsden). For the mini-red (8 & under) the winner was Andrew Wilson (Bearsden) and the runner-up Ethan Ryan (Thorn Park).

Trophies were presented to the winners by Alec Goodwin of Doe Sport North which has sponsored the event for the tenth consecutive year.

Picture caption

The finalists at Bearsden Tennis Club’s LTA Doe Sport Summer Series Tournament. Seated left to right: Giorgia Bigaro, Arron Scott, Grant Adie, Ian Cannon, Andrew Macintosh, Kirsty Macdonald, Maureen Murray

Standing: Niamh Slavin, Craig Mckenna, Philip Waterfield, Scott Currie, Fraser Edwards, Alec Goodwin (Doe Sport)