Winners of the youth parliament poll praised

Three potential MPs of the future have been elected to the Scottish Youth Parliament to cover the East Dunbartonshire area.

In the recent election Advaith Sastry was selected as a member for Clydebank and Milngavie, while Laura Gildea and Jack Ferrie were elected to be the voice for young people in Strathkelvin and Bearsden.

Local MP Jo Swinson congratulated the youngsters on their successful election campaigns.

She said: “Young people are becoming engaged in politics in numbers never seen before and are helping shape the debate about the future of Scotland.

“The Scottish Youth Parliament has grown in strength since its formation, and is now an exciting forum for debate.

‘‘I look forward to seeing the positive contributions from the MSYPs for our area over the next two years.”