Una Walker is East Dunbartonshire’s new provost

editorial image
Share this article

NEWLY elected councillors voted for the new provost and leader of East Dunbartonshire Council for the next five years at a meeting on Tuesday.

Labour’s Una Walker, who represents Bishopbriggs North and Torrance, was elected as provost with 13 votes - defeating SNP’s Gillian Renwick who had nine. Independent Duncan Cumming, from Bearsden North, abstained.

Councillor Walker said: “I would just like to say thanks to all the people who voted for me and into this position.

“I will do the best that I can for all of you and for all of East Dunbartonshire Council.

“It is a privilege for me to be sitting here and I will do my very best to represent all political parties.”

The former provost, Milngavie Liberal Democrat councillor Eric Gotts, who was in the position for nearly three years, said: “I congratulate Una Walker. All previous five provosts were held in high regard and I’m confident that Una can do a good job as well.”

Conservative councillor Anne Jarvis, for Lenzie and Kirkintilloch South, was elected as depute provost with 13 votes - defeating the SNP’s Jim Gibbons who got nine.

Labour councillor Rhondda Geekie, who represents Lenzie and Kirkintilloch South, has been returned as leader of the council - she has held the position since May 2007 and she defeated SNP group leader Ian Mackay.

LibDem group leader Ashay Ghai, who represents Bearsden North, was elected as deputy leader of the council with 13 votes, defeating the SNP’s Gordan Low.

Labour Councillor Alan Moir is the new convener of development and infrastructure with LibDem Councillor Vaughan Moody as vice convener, Councillor Ghai is convener of housing and community services with Labour Councillor Stewart MacDonald as vice convener, Councillor Gotts is convener of education with Labour’s Maureen Henry as vice convener, Labour’s Michael O’Donnell is convener of social work with Labour’s Manjinder Shergill as depute convener.

Councillor Geekie is the convener of policy and resources with LibDem Councillor Ashay Ghai as vice convener and Conservative Billy Hendry is convener of the planning board with Labour’s John Dempsey as vice convener.