SNP’s Fulton MacGregor takes Coatbridge & Chryston seat from Labour

editorial image

The SNP’s Fulton MacGregor clinched victory for his party in Coatbridge & Chryston – beating Labour’s Elaine Smith who had held the seat since 1999.

Mr MacGregor was voted in as the constituency MSP with a majority of 3,779 at the Ravenscraig Regional Sports Centre.

The result meant defeat for Elaine Smith who was hoping for a fifth consecutive term.

The Coatbridge & Chryston and Airdrie & Shotts constituencies are now represented solely by SNP MPs and MSPs following decades of Labour success.

The Tories’ Robyn Halbert took third place with 2,868 votes. John Wilson, of the Greens, claimed fourth with 1,612 votes while the Liberal Democrats Jenni Lang polled just 423 votes.

Result: Fulton MacGregor (SNP) 13,605 votes, Elaine Smith (Labour) 9,826, Robyn Halbert (Conservatives) 2,868, John Wilson (Greens) 1,612

Jenni Lang (Liberal Democrats) 423.