Schools share £1.6m pupils’ equity fund

editorial image

More than 40 schools in East 
Dunbartonshire are set to share a £1.6 million funding boost over the next year.

The Scottish Government fund is aimed at boosting the attainment levels of the most deprived pupils in the area.

The local schools are among 2,300 across Scotland who will benefit.

The significant investment gives money directly to head teachers, allowing them to spend the additional money on local initiatives that 
will help close the poverty-related attainment gap in their school.

SNP MSP for Strathkelvin and Bearsden Rona Mackay said: “The SNP has made closing the education attainment gap our priority in this parliament – and the latest investment of £1,588,440 in our schools and our children across East Dunbartonshire is a key part of that.

“Every child should have the best possible start in life, no matter their background- and the role that schools play in giving children the support they need is vital.

“That is why it is right that this significant additional investment provided to close the poverty-related attainment gap goes straight to head teachers – giving those with the most intimate knowledge of their schools the ability to develop initiatives best suited to benefit their children”.

The schools: Baljaffray Primary (£20,520); Balmuildy Primary (£32,400); Bearsden Primary (£10,800); Castlehill Primary (£24,000); Clober Primary (£45,600); Colquhoun Park Primary (£82,800); Craigdhu Primary (£9,720); Craighead Primary (£39,960); Gartconner Primary (£26,400); Harestanes Primary (£38,400); Hillhead Primary (£75,600); Holy Family Primary (£33,600); Holy Trinity Primary (£64,800); Killermont Primary (£12,000); Lairdsland Primary (£55,200); Lennoxtown Primary (£39,600); Lenzie Meadow Primary (£48,000); Meadowburn Gaelic Unit (£7,560); Meadowburn Primary (£19,200); Millersneuk Primary (£13,200); Milngavie Primary(£21,600); Mosshead Primary (£6,480); Oxgang Primary (£44,400); St Andrew’s Primary (£24,000); St Helen’s Primary (£38,400); St Machan’s Primary (£40,800); St Matthew’s Primary (£27,600); Thomas Muir Primary (£100,800); Torrance Primary (£10,800); Twechar Primary (£28,080); Wester Cleddens Primary (£22,800); Westerton Primary (£28,800). Bearsden Academy (£33,600); Bishopbriggs Academy (£81,600); Boclair Academy (£49,200); Douglas Academy (£29,160); Kirkintilloch High (£66,000); Lenzie Academy (£50,400); St Ninian’s High (£60,000), Turnbull High (£21,600). Campsie View (£67,200), Merkland (£25,920).