Ross wins youth parliament seat

st ninians pupil election, winner ross greer from bearsden academy'26/3/11'em
st ninians pupil election, winner ross greer from bearsden academy'26/3/11'em

A BEARSDEN Academy pupil is celebrating this week after being elected to represent Clydebank and Milngavie in the Scottish Youth Parliament.

Ross Greer (16) was delighted to win the seat after putting in a lot of hard work in the election campaign.

The turnout in the two local constituencies, Clydebank and Milngavie and Strathkelvin and Bearsden,

was one of the highest in the history of the Scottish Youth Parliament - 5,494 young people voted out of a total 18,561 - 1,715 out of 4,833 voted in Clydebank and Milngavie (35.48 per cent) while 3,779 out of 13,728 (27.53 per cent) voted in Strathkelvin and Bearsden.

Votes were counted in St Ninian’s High School in Kirkintilloch using the Single Transferable Vote system. Michael Low from Bishopbriggs Academy and Conor Brady from Turnbull High School were elected as members for Strathkelvin and Bearsden.

Following the count, East Dunbartonshire’s Returning Officer and corporate services director, Diane Campbell, said: “There was much excitement from all the candidates as they supported each other throughout their campaigns and on polling day last Friday.

“I would like to congratulate the three winning candidates and I am sure that they will find their time as members of the Scottish Youth Parliament a hugely interesting experience. All the candidates deserve great credit for the hard work they did during their campaigns and I wish them well for the future.

“I would also like to thank all the council teams who worked very hard throughout the campaign week and at the count to ensure that everything ran smoothly.”

The winning candidates will take their seats at the Scottish Youth Parliament in June 2011.