Primary pupils in Euro final

BEARSDEN Primary School pupils have won coveted places in the grand final of the Scottish European Trust’s Euroquiz - which is going to be held on Monday in the Scottish Parliament debating chamber.

They are one of 30 primary schools to be taking part in the final of the competition for Primary 6 pupils which aims to help them develop their knowledge of Europe and the European Union, as well as core skills such as communication and teamwork. Quizmaster and deputy presiding officer, Elaine Smith MSP, will ask them questions on history, geography, current affairs, culture, languages, sport and the European Union.

Mrs Marianne Young, headteacher of Bearsden Primary, said: “All the pupils, parents and staff at Bearsden Primary are so proud of the team’s achievement. We know they will enjoy the challenge of taking part in Euroquiz and hope all their work in class with their teacher, Miss Cochrane, will be worthwhile. The other pupils in Primary 6 will be watching the broadcast live on Monday and we hope that everybody in East Dunbartonshire will join with us in supporting our team.”

The final is sponsored by individual donors and Trusts, the European Commission office in Scotland, Ian Hudghton MEP, David Martin MEP, Alyn Smith MEP, Struan Stevenson MEP and Catherine Stihler MEP

The event will be broadcast live on and will then be available on