Indoor bowlers get their say on new Allander centre

A SPORTS club that pays the council more than £50,000 a year to rent space at Allander Leisure will be consulted before a new centre is built.

Representatives from Allander Indoor Bowling Club (AIBC) will form part of the Allander Sports Centre Champions Group, which will have an input into the shape of a new facility when proposals are put forward.

A decision to include the AIBC, along with a number of other interested parties, was taken at last Tuesday night’s development and infrastructure meeting.

Prior to the meeting, Councillors Amanda Stewart and Bill Binks along with Tom Glen, head of development and enterprise, discussed the nuts and bolt of being a Champions Group with members from the bowling Club.

Representing the AIBC were honorary president John Harvey, past president John Mackintosh and club members Ian Steven, Keith Small and ladies match secretary Anne Stanger.

Councillor Stewart said: “I think that it is important that the bowling club is included in the Allander Sports Centre Champions Group. They make a valuable contribution to many people across the area and provide an excellent social scene as well as sporting activities.”

Mr Mackintosh said: “We are glad to have a say in helping to shape the future of a new centre.

“The bowling club operates at virtually no cost to the council and rent has been paid on the bowling hall every year from 1978. It is currently £53,000 per year. All that the council provides is the building and the lighting.”


Mr Harvey said: “Obviously I welcome this and we will be putting forward suggestions for the benefit of everyone using a new centre.

“We have always seen ourselves as part of the district’s sport and leisure facilities and currently have some 450 playing members of all ages from primary schoolchildren to our oldest member who is 94, and plays every week.”

The Champion’s Group will be made up of six councillors, three council officers, two representatives from East Dunbartonshire leisure and culture trust, five user group delegates and four members from the area’s community councils.