Festive bin collection arrangements

Nobody wants to miss their bin day, particularly at Christmas, so here are those all important dates, issued by East Dunbartonshire Council.

For residents who receive a collection on a Friday, (Christmas Day and New Year’s Day) refuse and recycling collections will be running two days later on the Sunday.

All other collections will take place on usual days.

Thursday 24 Dec (Stays the same)

Friday 25 Dec wil now be uplifted on Sunday 27 Dec

Monday 28 Dec (Stays the same)

Tuesday 29 Dec (Stays the same)

Wednesday 30 Dec (Stays the same)

Thursday 31 Dec (Stays the same)

Friday 1 Jan collection will now be uplifted on Sunday 3 Jan

Normal collection days will resume on Monday 4 January 2016.

Please ensure your bins and food caddies are out on the kerbside by 7am on the relevant collection day.

Depute Leader of the Council and Convener of Neighbourhood Services, Ashay Ghai said: “At this time of year there is often more waste from the packaging of food and gifts.

“I would encourage all residents to try and recycle as much as possible, either through the kerbside collection scheme or at any of the council’s recycling sites throughout the area.”

“We are also encouraging residents to recycle their Christmas trees. Our recycling sites will be accepting trees from 4 January.

“If anyone wants to recycle their Christmas tree but cannot take it to one of our tree recycling points, they can call the Customer Contact Centre on 0300 123 4510 and one of our agents will arrange for your tree to be picked up for recycling in the week beginning 18 January.”