Different collection dates for bins in Bearsden and Milngavie

DON’T get caught out by changes to dates for refuse and recycling collections during the festive period.

From Christmas Day to December 30 and from New Year’s Day to January 4, collections will be two days later but they remain the same on Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve.

Normal days will resume on Monday, January 7. Please ensure your bin/box is out for collection by 7am on the relevant day.

Convener of the council’s Development and Infrastructure Committee, Councillor Alan Moir, is urging people to recycle over the festive period. He said, “At this time of year there is often more waste from food and gift packaging. I would encourage all residents to recycle as much as possible, either through the kerbside collection scheme or at any of the council’s 20 recycling sites throughout the area.”

The council’s food waste recycling scheme begins in 2013 - details will be available in the new year.

Councillor Moir added: “We are looking at how we can continue to increase our recycling rates and reduce what we send to landfill so that we spend less on landfill tax.”

For more information visit www.eastdunbarton.gov.uk, call 0300 123 4510, or email recycling@eastdunbarton.gov.uk and remember to recycle your Christmas tree in the New Year.

New Festive period collection days - Monday, December 24 (stays the same), Thursday, December 27, Friday, December 28, Saturday, December 29, Sunday, December 30, Monday, December 31 (stays the same), Thursday, January 3, Friday, January 4, Saturday, January 5 and Sunday, January 6.